The Sūrya Namaskāra – Sun Salutation – contains 12 mantras honoring 12 aspects/names of Lord Sun.

These mantras are also linked to the 12 āsana postures that share the same name.

You can choose to listen or recite along. We invite you to take a steady and upright posture, comfortable and open. Take a few breaths and let your energy and attention settle. When you feel ready, start the audio. You may want to close your eyes. Let these sacred sounds move through your entire being.

ॐ ह्रां मित्राय नमः ।
ॐ ह्रीं रवये नमः ।
ॐ ह्रूं सूर्याय नमः ।
ॐ ह्रैं भानवे नमः ।
ॐ ह्रौं खगाय नमः ।
ॐ ह्रः पूष्णे नमः ।
ॐ ह्रां हिरण्यगर्भाय नमः ।
ॐ ह्रीं मरीचये नमः ।
ॐ ह्रूं आदित्याय नमः ।
ॐ ह्रैं सवित्रे नमः ।
ॐ ह्रौं अर्काय नमः ।
ॐ ह्रः भास्कराय नमः ।

Oṃ hrāṃ mitrāya namaḥ
Oṃ hrīṁ ravaye namaḥ
Oṃ hrūṁ sūryaya namaḥ
Oṃ hraiṁ bhānave namaḥ
Oṃ hrauṁ khagāya namaḥ
Oṃ hraḥ pūṣṇe namaḥ
Oṃ hrāṃ hiraṇyagarbhāya namaḥ
Oṃ hrīṁ marīcaye namaḥ
Oṃ hrūṁ ādityāya namaḥ
Oṃ hraiṁ savitre namaḥ
Oṃ hrauṁ arkāya namaḥ
Oṃ hraḥ bhāskarāya namaḥ

The Names:

Mitra, the Friend
Ravi, the One who Moves Across the Sky

Sūrya, the Effulgent One
Bhānu, the Radiant One

Khaga, the Sky-walker
Pūṣan, the Sustainer of Life

Hiraṇyagarbha, the Golden Womb

Marīci, the Ray of Light 

Āditya, the Son of Eternal and Infinite Expanse

Savitṛ, the Stimulator

Arka, the Beacon of Light

Bhāskara, the Illuminator

If you would like to learn more about what these each name means in depth, we invite you to visit (or re-visit!) Lesson 2.

Teachers: Dr. Maitreya Larios and Shambhavi Dandekar